CIDA Award for Excellence

The CIDA Award for Excellence Competition recognizes outstanding practices in interior design education. The competition is open to faculty members and collaborating teams at CIDA-accredited interior design programs. Annually, one first place winner receives a $5,000 award and up to two merit winners receive $2,000 awards.

The CIDA Board of Directors believes that recognizing excellence in interior design education is an important activity. CIDA’s Award for Excellence celebrates educators and collaborating partners who advance interior design education through their teaching methodology and student learning outcomes.

2018 Winning Entries

1st Place Winner
Sarah Strauss from Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY
Entry: Music, Media, Feminism

Merit Winner
Johan Granberg from Virginia Commonwelath University in Qatar, Doha, Qatar and collaborating team members Mohammad Nabil Suleiman and Haithem El Hammali
Entry: Meta Studio

Jason Meneely from University of Florida, Gainesville, FL
Entry: Finding Virtue in the Virtual: A Values Driven Approach for VR in Design Education

Honorable Mention
Carl Matthews from University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR and collaborating team members Alison Turner and Peter MacKeith
Entry: Housing Northwest Arkansas

2017 Winning Entries

1st Place Winner
Lindsey Bahe from University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE
Entry: Shifting Studios: From Project Typology Based Problem Solving to Inquiry, Circumstance, and Conditions

Merit Winner
Tilanka Chandrasekera from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Entry: Empathic Design in Virtual Reality

Johan Granberg from Virginia Commonwelath University in Qatar, Doha, Qatar and collaborating team members Ben Robinson and Fahad Al Kawari from Doha Film Institute, Doha, Qatar
Entry: Exploring Space Through the Lens – Production Design

Honorable Mention
Nathan Bicak from University of Nebraska, Lincoln, NE and collaborating team member Vanessa Schutte, AIA, Principal, DLR Group
Entry: Learning Spaces Collaborate Studio

Tasoulla Hadjiyanni from University of Minnesota, St Paul, MN
Entry: Unraveling Culture Through Digital Storytelling

2016 Winning Entries

1st Place Winner
Carl Matthews from University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR
Entry: Revitalization of culturally significant White Building to house victims of human trafficking in Phonm Pehn

Merit Winner
Stephanie McGoldrick from Mount Ida College, Newton, MA and collaborating team member Moira Gannon Denson from Marymount University, Arlington, VA
Entry: Universal Design-athons at Marymount University and Mount Ida College

Emily McLaughlin and collaborating team member from Indiana University – Purdue University Indianapolis, IN
Entry: Designing and Constructing with Earthbags in Swaziland

Honorable Mention
Deborah Schneiderman from Pratt Institute
Entry: Disaster Relief into Interior Design Pedagogy

Junghwa Suh from Chaminade University of Honolulu, HI
Entry: Learning on the Go: Using Mobile Tools in Design Education

2015 Winning Entries

1st Place Winner
Sarah Strauss from the Pratt Institute, New York, NY
Entry: Tools, Tactility, and Technology

Merit Winner
Michelle Duff from California State University, Sacramento, CA
Entry: 2015 Solar Decathlon

Honorable Mention
Tilanka Chandrasekera from Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Entry: Connecting Creativity

Jessica Senne from Maryville University, St. Louis, MO
Entry: Suburban Modernism – The Architecture and Interior Design of Ralph and Mary Jane Fournier

2014 Winning Entries

1st Place Winner
Travis L. Hicks and collaborating team members from The University of North Carolina at Greensboro, NC
Entry: Impacting a Campus…Engaging the Community

Merit Winner
Taymoore Balbaa and collaborating team members from Ryerson University, Toronto, ON, Canada
Entry: Heritage Re-Visited/Vertical Studio

Honorable Mention
Khoi Vo from Savannah College of Art and Design, Savannah, GA
Entry: SCADPAD, Reimagining urban living

Deborah Schneiderman from Pratt Institute, Brooklyn, NY
Entry: Cloudspace Connect Lounge