Call for entries – 2018 CIDA Award for Excellence

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) is excited to announce the annual CIDA Award for Excellence Competition. The CIDA Board of Directors aims to recognize outstanding practices in interior design education. The Award for Excellence competition is open to all faculty members at CIDA-accredited interior design programs. Awards of up to $5,000 are available to winning entries. CIDA widely publicizes winning entries.

2018 Award for Excellence submissions are due in the CIDA office no later than September 30, 2018. Judges give preference to entries that exhibit: clarity of intent and outcomes, relevance to contemporary practices or issues impacting interior design, creativity and/or innovation, and demonstration of successful student learning. Award winners will be notified in January 2019.

Click here for competition and submission details.

The first place winner of the 2017 Award for Excellence was Lindsey Bahe, Professor and Director of the Interior Design Program at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln. Professor Bahe’s entry, “Shifting Studios: From Project Typology Based Problem Solving to Inquiry, Circumstance, and Conditions” encompasses applied inquiry and research, critical thinking, and the role and impact of design on current social issues. Professor Bahe received a $5,000 award in recognition of this honor. This entry and other 2017 award winners can be viewed here.

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation is an independent, non-profit, accrediting organization responsible for setting standards and evaluating degree-granting interior design programs. Learn more at

For more information:
Holly Mattson, Executive Director ()
Telephone: 616.458.0400