Council for Interior Design Accreditation Board elects officers, appoints new directors

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) Board of Directors re-elected Dr. Pamela K. Evans, FIDEC as the 2016 Board Chair. Dr. Evans is the Director of Interior Design at Kent State University and serves as the accredited program representative on the CIDA Board. Jan Johnson, FIIDA, Vice President of Design and Workplace Resources at Allsteel, was re-elected Secretary-Treasurer. Jan serves as the industry representative on the CIDA Board. Additionally, Collin Burry, FIIDA was re-appointed to serve a second three-year term as the International Interior Design Association (IIDA) representative and also as Chair-elect of the CIDA Board.

Two new Director appointments were made to the nine-member Board. Joseph Hittinger was appointed as the Accreditation Commission representative. Joseph has been practicing interior design for over twenty years and is currently located in San Francisco, California. He served two terms on the Accreditation Commission from 2010-2015, and was the Accreditation Commission Chair in 2012 and 2013. Prior to serving on the Accreditation Commission, Joseph served as a CIDA site visitor from 2004-2009. Katherine Setser, ASID, IDEC, IIDA, NCIDQ was appointed as liaison to the Council for Interior Design Qualification (CIDQ). Katherine is an Assistant Professor and Director of Interior Design at Miami University in Oxford, Ohio. She has served as an appointee and chair on several CIDQ task forces since 2008. Director terms began January 1, 2016. For more information about the Board of Directors, go to

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation is an independent, non-profit, accrediting organization responsible for setting standards and evaluating degree-granting interior design programs. There are 181 CIDA-accredited programs in the U.S., Canada, and Qatar.

For additional information: Holly Mattson, Executive Director, 616.458.0400 or