Envisioning the Future – CIDA Future Vision results published

In November 2014, the Council for Interior Design Accreditation Board of Directors partnered with nominated visionaries to synthesize results of broad-based environmental scanning into future priorities for interior designers. Nominated and selected for their rich knowledge base and broad perspective, the visionary thought leaders engaged in Future Vision were led through a facilitated, two-day session hosted by Steelcase at the Steelcase University Learning Center. The primary goal was to synthesize and describe factors having the greatest influence on interior design in the future in order to establish aspirational priorities for entry-level practitioners in 2017 and beyond. Click here for a summary of Future Vision results.

Future Vision participants included:

Interior design practice
Collin Burry, Principal, Gensler, San Francisco, CA (CIDA Board)
Julianna Catlin, Principal, Catlin Design, Jacksonville, FL
Heather Robertson Corrigan, President, Robertson MacLean Design Limited, Dartmouth, NS (CIDA Board)
Raphael Paul diTommaso, Principal, diTommaso & Colaku, New York, NY
Benjamin Fuglevand, Associate, Callison Architects, Seattle, WA
Caroline Hughes, Principal, Figure3, Toronto, ON
Carol Jones, Principal, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd., Vancouver, BC (CIDA Board)
Melissa Mizell, Senior Associate Designer, Gensler, San Francisco, CA
Christina Oliver, Principal, Oliver Interiors, LLC, Newton, MA
Adam Stover, Principal, Populous, Kansas City, MO 

Interior design education
Katherine Ankerson, Department Head, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
Tilanka Chandrasekera, Assistant Professor, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Pamela Evans, Interior Design Director, Kent State University, Kent, OH (CIDA Board)
Janine King, Interior Architecture Department Chair, Florida International University, Miami, FL
Thomas Kong, Associate Professor, School of the Art Institute, Chicago, IL
Jane Kucko, Associate Dean for University Programs, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, TX (CIDA Board)
Carl Matthews, Interior Design Program Director, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR (CIDA Board)
Dorothy Stern, Professor, Algonquin College, Ottawa, ON 

Industry and related disciplines
Michael R. Gibson, Associate Professor, University of North Texas, Denton, TX (AIGA Design Education Council)
Jan Johnson, Vice President Design and Workplace Resources, Allsteel, Chicago, IL (CIDA Board)
Alex Serriere, Principal, CTO, Director of Research, TEECOM, Oakland, CA
Mark Strauss, President, Interior Design Media, New York, NY (CIDA Board)

States Pamela Evans, Ph.D., FIDEC, IIDA, CIDA Board Chair, “Through extensive information collection and thoughtful deliberation, CIDA has established a rich knowledge base from which to begin crafting future interior design standards. The extraordinary group of thoughtful leaders who participated in Future Vision have made an important and meaningful contribution to the continued excellence of interior design education, ultimately benefitting next generation practitioners and the public. The community at large will be consulted as CIDA accreditation standards are drafted in 2015. New standards will be published in 2016 and implemented in 2017.” Click here for further information about the CIDA standards project.

CIDA gratefully acknowledges Future Vision partners and sponsors The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) and Steelcase.

ASIDLogo-png24t-600-300-AA  steelcase-logo