Visionaries to establish priorities for future CIDA standards

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation Board of Directors has invited visionaries to partner in establishing priorities for the future of interior design higher education. Chosen for their well-informed, broad perspective, a diverse group of nominated thought leaders will join the Board of Directors at CIDA’s Future Vision session in November 2014. Hosted by Steelcase, the goal of Future Vision is to describe factors that will have the greatest influence on interior design in order to establish educational priorities for entry-level practitioners in 2017 and beyond. Participants include:

Interior design practice
Collin Burry, Principal, Gensler, San Francisco, CA (CIDA Board)
Julianna Catlin, Principal, Catlin Design, Jacksonville, FL
Heather Robertson Corrigan, President, Robertson MacLean Design Limited, Dartmouth, NS (CIDA Board)
Raphael Paul diTommaso, Principal, diTommaso & Colaku, New York, NY
Benjamin Fuglevand, Associate, Callison Architects, Seattle, WA
Sari Graven, Principal, J&S Collaborative, Seattle, WA (CIDA Board)
Carol Jones, Principal, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd., Vancouver, BC (CIDA Board)
Melissa Mizell, Senior Associate Designer, Gensler, San Francisco, CA
Christina Oliver, Principal, Oliver Interiors, LLC, Newton, MA
Heidi Painchaud, Managing Principal, B+H Architects, Toronto, ON
Adam Stover, Principal, Populous, Kansas City, MO

Interior design education
Katherine Ankerson, Department Head, Kansas State University, Manhattan, KS
Tilanka Chandrasekera, Assistant Professor, Oklahoma State University, Stillwater, OK
Pamela Evans, Interior Design Director, Kent State University, Kent, OH (CIDA Board)
Janine King, Interior Architecture Department Chair, Florida International University, Miami, FL
Thomas Kong, Associate Professor, The School of the Art Institute of Chicago, Chicago, IL
Jane Kucko, Associate Dean for University Programs, Texas Christian University, Fort Worth, TX (CIDA Board)
Carl Matthews, Interior Design Program Director, University of Arkansas, Fayetteville, AR (CIDA Board)
Dorothy Stern, Professor, Algonquin College, Ottawa, ON

Industry and related disciplines
Tom Carlisle, Apple Campus 2 Design, Apple, Cupertino, CA
Michael R. Gibson, Associate Professor, University of North Texas, Denton, TX (AIGA Design Education Council)
Jan Johnson, Vice President Design and Workplace Resources, Allsteel, Chicago, IL (CIDA Board)
Alex Serriere, Principal, CTO, Director of Research, TEECOM, Oakland, CA
Mark Strauss, President, Interior Design Media, New York, NY (CIDA Board)

States Heather Robertson Corrigan, CIDA Board Chair, “CIDA has embarked on a dynamic, methodical process to envision future needs and develop a set of quality assurance standards that will prepare interior design graduates to meet the challenges ahead. Future Vision is an important part of the standards development process and CIDA is dedicated to engaging this extraordinary group of thought leaders to benefit the next generation of practitioners. The community at large will be consulted as CIDA accreditation standards are crafted in 2015. New standards will be published in 2016 and implemented in 2017.” Click here for further information about the CIDA standards project.

CIDA gratefully acknowledges Future Vision partners and sponsors The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) and Steelcase.