CIDA Innovative Education Award Winners Announced

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) is pleased to announce the winners of the 2013 Innovative Interior Design Education Award. This award recognizes and celebrates innovative teaching and program-related practices that advance the cause of excellence in interior design education.

The first place winner is Tilanka Chandrasekera, an Assistant Professor in the Department of Design, Housing, and Merchandising at Oklahoma State University. Professor Chandrasekera’s entry, “Designing with Digital Media,” which documents how multiple forms of digital media, such as Augmented Reality models, can be integrated throughout the curriculum to advance student learning. “The CIDA Board congratulates Professor Chandrasekera on this outstanding example of teaching that achieves multiple learning objectives through engaging digital media in and outside of the traditional classroom,” states Heather Robertson Corrigan, FIDC, Board Chair. Professor Chandrasekera received a $5,000 award in recognition of this honor.

Two entries were also recognized with $2,000 merit awards. Dr. Tasoulla Hadjiyanni, Associate Professor, Interior Design, at the University of Minnesota received a merit award for her entry, “Sketching in Interior Design History Class, Thinking = Being.” Deborah Schneiderman, Associate Professor, Interior Design, at Pratt Institute also received a merit award for the entry, “Interior Design Without Architecture: The Train Interior Studio.” Elizabeth Lockwood, Adjunct Faculty at The Art Institute of Portland received an honorable mention for her submission, “Collaboration in Hospitality Design.” CIDA is proud to honor these design educators for their exceptional work.

Numerous submissions were received for the fourth annual 2013 Innovative Education Award. Winning entries are available for viewing at:

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation is an independent, non-profit, accrediting organization responsible for setting standards and evaluating degree granting interior design programs. Learn more at

For more information:
Holly Mattson, Executive Director ()
Telephone 616.458.0400