Board elects officers, appoints new directors

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) Board of Directors elected Heather Robertson Corrigan, FIDC, as the 2013 Board Chair. Corrigan is Principal of Robertson MacLean Design Limited in Nova Scotia. Dr. Pamela K. Evans, Associate Dean and Interior Design Director at Kent State University, was elected Secretary Treasurer.

One new Director appointment was made to the nine-member Board. Collin Burry, FIIDA, LEED ID+C, was appointed to a three-year term as liaison to the International Interior Design Association (IIDA). Burry is a Design Principal at Gensler. He joined Gensler in 1997 and has over 25 years of professional experience. Burry’s work has garnered over 50 design awards and has been featured in numerous publications. His projects range from technology and corporate headquarters to showrooms, media, retail, hospitality, and product design. He is a fellow and active member of IIDA and an advocate for design education.

Additionally, Carol Jones, FIDC, FIIDA, Kasian Architecture Interior Design and Planning Ltd., was re-appointed to serve a second three-year term on the CIDA Board as liaison to the National Council for Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ). Dr. Jane Kucko, Texas Christian University, was appointed to serve a second three-year term as the CIDA Accreditation Commission representative.

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation is an independent, non-profit, accrediting organization responsible for setting standards and evaluating degree granting interior design programs. There are 177 CIDA-accredited programs in the U.S., Canada, and Qatar. For more information about the Board of Directors, go to Board.

For additional information:
Holly Mattson, Executive Director
616.458.0400 or