2011 Student Video Awards

The Council for Interior Design Accreditation (CIDA) is pleased to announce award winners of the 2010 video competition highlighting the value of quality healthcare interior design.

Students from Louisiana State University — Colette DeJean, Leigh Hardy, Ryan Weilenman, Sarah Tull and Alyse Lambert – won first place for their submission, “Interior Design & Healthcare.” Faculty Advisor Danielle Johnson guided the team. Judges commented that the video was “very relevant, imaginative, informative,” and an “on-target explanation of how professional interior design impacts healthcare.”

Ahmed Alawadhi from the University of Missouri – Columbia was the second-place winner for his entry, “The Role of Accredited Healthcare Interior Designer.” This entry appealed to judges for the strong message about value that “informs about interior design skills” and “reaches several audiences.”

Radford University students — Michelle Cleverdon, Laura Payne, Ashleigh Wilson, Kendra Travis, and Katie Childress — produced the third-place winning entry with the assistance of Faculty Advisor Holly Cline. Judges praised this video for “emphasizing design, targeting healthcare professionals, and being informative regarding interior design skills and experience.”

CIDA partnered with the National Council of Interior Design Qualification (NCIDQ), Interior Design Educators Council (IDEC), American Academy of Healthcare Interior Designers (AAHID), and Interiors & Sources magazine to host the competition. More than 25 videos were submitted and a panel of judges from IDEC, AAHID, CIDA and NCIDQ selected winning entries.  Award winners receive cash prizes as well as recognition in Interiors & Sources magazine.  

The winning videos and other contest entries are online at www.youtube.com/idecorg. Click on “Favorites” to view winning entries.

CIDA is an independent, non-profit, accrediting organization responsible for setting standards and evaluating degree granting interior design programs. There are currently 171 CIDA-accredited programs in the U.S., Canada, and Qatar. Learn more at accredit-id.org.

For more information:
Holly Mattson, Executive Director ()
Telephone: 616.458.0400